How to Comfort a Grieving Friend

After my husband died, I learned there is no one-size-fits-all approach

Heather McLeod
Human Parts

--

Photo: Mike Sharp on Unsplash

SSometimes “I’m sorry for your loss” doesn’t cut it. A friend’s father died a year ago. He told me about it over lunch at the pub, and I reached for a response, some safe sentence to tell him I cared.

In the years of supporting my husband through his cancer, and now my two years as a widow, I’ve learned to be careful with this moment. There are so many wrong things to say.

So I uttered the one safe sentence I’ve settled on: “I’m so sorry for your loss.”

Then I patted myself on the back for mastering this death-grief thing.

“Ugh,” my friend said. “I hate when people say that. What does that even mean?”

Well, shit. I thought I was an expert at all this. If even I get it wrong sometimes, is there one right thing to say?

WWhen my husband, Brock, was sick, I read all the books on grief and mourning I could find. At one point I picked up Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking, a multi-award-winning book about the grieving process.

In the first part, Didion surveys people about the responses they found helpful and unhelpful: Are the flower bouquets thoughtful, or just a painful reminder of…

--

--

Heather McLeod
Human Parts

Writing about losing my young husband to cancer, grief, widowhood & this new, Plan B life. www.heathermcleod.ca https://www.buymeacoffee.com/heathermcleod