This Is Us

Autistic People Don’t Lack Empathy

In fact, we’ve got more than enough

Neurodiverging Coaching
Human Parts
Published in
4 min readAug 5, 2020

--

Image: Hoang Minh Dinh / EyeEm / Getty Images

(An audio version of this article is available via the Neurodiverging Podcast, here.)

I’m an autistic woman in my 30s. I’m introverted and a little awkward, but I do enjoy meeting new people and making new friends. However, I have this recurring experience in social settings that I find off-putting.

When I am in a room with a group of people who are neurotypical (that is, people with “typically developing” brains), I am often told that I don’t fit their image of what autism looks like. I am told that I seem too intelligent or too “high-functioning.” I am too verbal. My eye contact is too good. Oftentimes, I hear that I just don’t look like an autistic person.

People mean well by telling me this, but what I really hear during these conversations is how misunderstood autism is, and how much people don’t know about the diversity inherent in the autism spectrum. I assure you, I am an autistic person, thank you very much, and being autistic is a huge part of my identity.

Autism describes a collection of neurological traits, not a “type” of person. Part of dismantling the stereotyped understanding of autism is talking about what autism isn’t, so we can get closer to better understanding…

--

--

Neurodiverging Coaching
Human Parts

An online, sliding scale neurodivergent coaching practice supporting folks worldwide. Learn more at Neurodiverging.com.