Baby Weight

The heavy truth of motherhood

Laura Sievers
Human Parts

--

Credit: Vosparee/iStock/Getty Images Plus

II had never heard of a copywriter before, let alone been inside an ad agency. So when, as a recent communications graduate, I found myself being ushered into a woman’s office for an informational interview, I was in awe. It appeared to me to be the pinnacle of success — a woman who had her own office and was paid to write. She was kind enough to field my questions and give me an office tour, introducing me to her coworkers. She also divulged that she was leaving her job to go back to school. She was going to become a professor.

Appalled, I asked why. How could she leave such a great job? Walking back into her office, she lowered her voice, looked at me directly and said, “If you end up getting into advertising, as you get older and have kids, you’ll understand.”

At the time, the statement was confounding. Years later, as a creative director and copywriter myself, I would also leave at 40, and her truth would come back to me.

TThere have been many moments in my life when women have lowered their voices and told me a truth within a truth. These footnotes of a woman’s life, doled out in half-truths and measured tones, are where I received the most meaningful advice on matters of love, sex, health, and career.

--

--