Dating in the Multiverse

When the angry commenters on YouTube are kind of right

Kelly Tatham
Human Parts

--

Credit: Grandfailure/iStock/Getty Images Plus

II knew what I was getting into when I decided to read the YouTube comments on the film I made about love and dating. “Ignore the comments,” DUST’s programming director warned me a few days before the film’s release. “People can get really nasty behind avatars.”

I didn’t listen. My film, Multiverse Dating for Beginners, is about a woman who suffers many broken hearts while struggling to secure a date with the guy she likes. She jumps through several parallel universes in attempts to get it right. In doing so, she notices how differently he responds in each situation. Specifically, she notices that he responds positively if she “plays it cool” and negatively if she shows him interest. It’s a brutally honest story that’s 95 percent true to my personal experiences.

Hours after the film’s release, I took a deep breath and began to scroll. I was expecting the comments to be rude, mean, and violent, and a lot of them were: “Neurotic, insecure…” “A perfect example of how toxic modern western females are.” “The typical needy nutcase…” “Fellas, avoid women like her.”

Both women and men are taught that love is magic and out of our control.

--

--

Kelly Tatham
Human Parts

Fugitive. Systemsthinker. Saving the world is easier than we think. There is no world // loveandthemultiverse.substack.com/