Express Yourself

Editing Ourselves Into Oblivion

Where does the real me end and the fictional one begin?

anna dorn
Human Parts
Published in
5 min readMay 20, 2020

--

A photo of a pink cloud.
Photo: Stanislaw Pytel/Getty Images

In her 2010 experimental novel, How a Person Should Be, Sheila Heti writes that “most people live their entire lives with their clothes on.” They are private and possess a natural modesty. Others, artists, she writes, cannot put their clothes on. “They are destined to expose every part of themselves, so the rest of us can know what it means to be human.”

When I told my mom I wanted to publish books, she said she didn’t understand. “That would feel like running around naked.” My mom used to sell art, and her statement annoyed me. Because she was right. My debut novel comes out this month. And I feel very naked.

As kids, we have nightmares of being naked at school — a metaphor for exposing our true selves. Today, everyone is naked online. In the age of Only Fans, public nudity has been rendered an empty gesture. It’s difficult to go online without seeing someone’s breasts you never wanted to see. But bodies are edited into a lie, a form of being clothed, and true exposure remains rare.

I am 33 years old. I wrote my first novel draft at age 17. I wrote four entire novel manuscripts that I was unable to sell to a publisher before selling this one. In other words, I have…

--

--

anna dorn
Human Parts

vagablonde (unnamed press, may 2020); bad lawyer (hachette books, spring 2021)