FOR BETTER OR WORSE:

Lisa Gastaldo
Human Parts
5 min readMay 5, 2015

--

A 25th Anniversary Love Letter to my Dead Husband

I've begun this missive multiple times. Spurts of dialog verbalized in my dreams. Numerous scribbled passages were wadded up and subsequently rescued. I stared blankly at a flashing cursor for hours.

How do I write a letter to you on the occasion of our 25th wedding anniversary when death did us part?

Do I recount the details of our nuptials? How I had fantasized about a ceremony with the pomp of the Sound of Music? Should I divulge we desired a reception that rivaled the Godfather? Do I elaborate on how my cathedral-length veil and our 45-minute tarantella helped to realize the vision?

We opted for spring in a vain attempt to evade the valley heat. (It was 110!) The priest that had witnessed the birth of our relationship was enlisted to perform the nuptial rite. All I Ask of You from Phantom was sung as we lit the unity candle.

Anywhere you go, let me go, too.

I feel as if our life’s story has been ripped in half. The latter chapters were snatched away and callously thrown into the wind. I've tried to recapture…

--

--

Lisa Gastaldo
Human Parts

Writer. Mother. Widow. Survivor. Looking for life’s perfect fit at SearchingForBigGirlPanties.com