How I Ended My 861-Day Run Streak

Brian Patrick
Human Parts
Published in
7 min readSep 13, 2024

--

With a 50 Miler — Even Though I Had Never Run A Marathon

As I lay on the couch, both of my legs felt as though I just survived a failed amputation. I can only describe the feeling as an incredibly dull, yet deep and sharp ache. But I loved it.

My pride was unlike any accomplishment to date in life. The way my legs felt, I knew my 861-day run streak had ended. This may be controversial in certain crowds: I was more proud of myself at this moment than I was when I had earned the coveted Eagle Globe and Anchor from graduating Marine Corps boot camp years ago.

It was the Fall of 2019. I was about 500 days into my streak of running at least 1 mile daily. I was logging between 100 to 150 miles per month. The streak began as a means to hold myself accountable. As I ran more, I surrounded myself with the running community: print magazines, forums, Instagram pages, podcasts, and books.

Somewhere in the mess of all of the running content I was consuming, I began to learn of these strange events called ultramarathons, and as you're reading this, you may have a decent idea of what occurred next. I went back-and-forth looking for an Ultra that would be ideal. Being in the Midwest, I finally settled on one: The Tunnel Hill 50-miler.

Even though I had never even run a 26.2 mile marathon at this point, I didn’t care. I typically approach things in a fashion that does not make much sense. As an example: when I was in high school, my dad wanted me to fill create a list…

--

--

Brian Patrick
Human Parts

I served 9 years in the Marines, got married, had kids, bought a house and dog, work full-time, and ran a 50-mile race. Now I write. https://veteranwithapen.com