HUMANS 101

How to Be a More Interesting Conversationalist

4 simple steps for better communication

Don Johnson
Human Parts
Published in
7 min readJun 14, 2021

--

Photo: Matt W Newman/Unsplash

People typically shut down when someone talks for more than 40 seconds. I’d recently read that from Mark Goulston, author of Just Listen, and this past weekend I had a firsthand experience of it.

My houseguest, someone I didn’t know very well, turned out to be quite the talker. As we sat together after dinner his verbal stream of consciousness washed over me, and I wondered when he might pause to take a breath. He didn’t.

I felt myself shutting down, losing interest not just in listening to him but also in saying anything. The nonstop talking continued at breakfast the next morning and into the afternoon activities. Not one question did he ask of me. Not surprisingly, I didn’t feel any meaningful connection with him when we said our goodbyes later that day.

A month earlier, I had quite a different experience when a business acquaintance introduced me to someone she thought I might get along with. He and I had an…

--

--

Don Johnson
Human Parts

Author | Meditation Teacher | Advocate for Kindness, Respect & Freedom | Human Potential Coach | Connect with me here: www.bemoreconscious.com