Humans 101

How ‘Learned Optimism’ Can Get You Through Tough Times

Start by recognizing the three Ps

Shanna Loga
Human Parts
Published in
5 min readJan 13, 2021

--

Photo by Gremlin/Getty Images

Have you ever felt yourself on the verge of a downward spiral? I’ve been there.

What kind of mother can’t get her baby to sleep?
There must be something wrong with me.
If I don’t get some sleep soon, I cannot continue to function.
Will this sleep drought ever end? I can’t take it anymore.

These thoughts swirled in my brain as I felt myself on the precipice of a sob fest. My baby had been teething and struggling with sleep, and I’d had just nine hours of sleep in 72 hours. I felt as though I was teetering on the edge.

I’ve struggled with postpartum depression and anxiety in the past and had faced this cliff before. Thankfully, after therapy and a deep dive into positive psychology, I had some tools to walk myself back from the ledge.

One of those tools is called “learned optimism” and involves reviewing thoughts for limiting beliefs. More specifically, it’s about recognizing the markers of pessimistic thinking. I knew that if I could reframe my limiting beliefs, I could maintain my composure.

The three Ps

--

--

Shanna Loga
Human Parts

Multiracial Midwestern Mama | Multiniche — you never know what I’ll write about next (and neither do I) | She/her/hers | https://shannaloga.com/