How Walking Saved My Marriage

Over the course of 773,770 steps, I learned to walk with, not away from, my problems

Kerala Taylor
Human Parts

--

Photo by kieferpix/Getty Images

At first, I tried to outwalk my anger. Maybe if I walked fast enough, I could leave it behind. Maybe if I walked fast enough to somewhere beautiful, I could leave it behind and bury it for good and return home a better, calmer, more merciful version of myself.

What was I angry about? In a word, everything.

For months, I’d been dreaming about warm, lingering evenings when I wouldn’t have to hunch my shoulders against the drizzle and the cold. When these evenings finally arrived, it seemed they’d done so just to spite me. Flowers unfurled and brilliant colors assaulted me everywhere I turned. While my own small world seemed to be crumbling to dust, the world beyond was impervious to my pain.

On our kids’ last day of school, my partner and I were embroiled in an argument, one of many that had been descending with increasing frequency and fury. We’d almost made it through the weekend, but had spiraled into conflict just as we were sitting down to Sunday dinner. I didn’t understand what was happening, wasn’t giving him the grace he needed, was too focused on all the ways I wanted him to change. I didn’t realize my partner was wrestling with his own…

--

--

Kerala Taylor
Human Parts

Award-winning writer. Interrupting notions of what it means to be a mother, woman, worker, and wife. Subscribe: https://keralataylor.substack.com