I Don’t Need ‘I Believe You.’ I Need ‘I’ll Stand Up For You.’

When it comes to supporting victims of sexual assault, belief is only the beginning

Karen Rain
Human Parts

--

Photo: Michelle Spollen on Unsplash

OOver 30 years ago, I was held up at gunpoint in New York City while working as an ice cream vendor. Once the thief was 20 feet away from me, I pointed at him and shouted, “That man has a gun and he just stole my money!” as I had been trained to do. Despite being the only one who saw the gun, no one doubted my story. The vendor next to me and a few strangers ran after the thief, risking their lives to recoup the couple hundred dollars he’d stolen. The automatic response to that robbery was not just belief, but also an urgency for justice.

If I were to post on social media that someone robbed me and people replied, “I believe you,” I would feel more confused and irritated than supported. There will never be a #MeToo movement for victims of robbery, though, because “belief” is not an issue — even if there are no eyewitnesses. People don’t feel pressure to keep it secret; they don’t expect to be shamed and blamed when someone robs them. Meanwhile the knee-jerk reaction to accounts of sexual assault is doubt. Perhaps people don’t want to believe stories of sexual assault because often it’s unbearable to imagine. Or maybe they don’t want to believe it because they don’t know what to…

--

--

Karen Rain
Human Parts

Karen Rain is a tutor, writer, queer feminist, activist and nature lover.