THIS IS US

I Live in a Windmill

And I have to make peace with the wind

Ruth Livingstone
Human Parts
Published in
4 min readNov 2, 2020

--

Photo: George W Johnson / Getty Images

When Covid-19 hit, I was living in a city in the north of England. It was a great city, with lively bars and clubs and restaurants, along with wonderful music venues, museums, and galleries. But during shutdown, everything closed. And a city with everything closed becomes a concrete prison.

During that prolonged Covid-19 shutdown, my yearning for open spaces was almost unbearable, and I started looking for alternatives.

After an internet search, I found this windmill for sale in rural Wales, took a virtual video tour, and knew I wanted it. Travel was banned, and the purchase had to wait until the shutdown was lifted enough for estate agents to reopen. One quick (and slightly illegal) visit confirmed my decision. Then the interminable buying process began. Many months later, during which my city went back in a second shutdown, I finally completed the legal proceedings, and the mill became mine.

--

--

Ruth Livingstone
Human Parts

I was an NHS GP for 25 years. Studied creative writing at Birkbeck University. Now walking around the British coastline in very slow stages.