How to Interpret Messages From Plant Spirits

Ways to make sense of what ayahuasca, magic mushrooms, and other psychedelics might show us

Nick Sun
Human Parts

--

Illustrations: Paul Hoppe

CConsidering a large portion of magickal theory revolves around working out which spirits are worth listening to, which are just fucking with you, and which are actively leading you into darkness, it’s important to be a bit discerning when it comes to interpreting the messages you receive from the other side. Things can get messy, quickly, and you may find yourself swerving from “receptacle for divine wisdom” into paranoid schizophrenia territory.

I’m referring specifically to the messages one receives from plant spirits, particularly psychedelic plant spirits. Now, I’m not here to argue the existence of spirits, but this is how I refer to them for ease of communication. At least on the surface, they do seem to be external conscious entities that interact with me in ways I could not consciously make up. Perhaps it is the utility of the information that is ultimately more knowable than the source or the ‘truth’ of the information itself.

Often when we work with the plants, they appear to heal us, teach us, show us things, or just play with us. These messages and healings can be deep, life-changing events that one can’t help but feel would not have been reached without…

--

--

Nick Sun
Human Parts

Email me at kambogaia@gmail.com and hey, why not support me for $2 a month on patreon while i finish my freaking book? https://www.patreon.com/nicksun x