This Is Us

After My Daughter’s Unsolved Death, I Turned to True Crime

Now I fantasize about telling her story

Jen McGahan
Human Parts
Published in
7 min readSep 4, 2020

--

Illustration of a screaming platinum blonde woman, her hands are red with long claw-like nails, and eyes in middle of palms.
Detail of a painting by Katie McGahan. Images courtesy of the author.

Since my daughter died earlier this year I’m becoming a reader of true crime, murder mysteries, and investigative journalism of the more gruesome sort. Now that this tragedy has befallen me and my family, the perils of others don’t cause me to recoil. Not…

--

--

Jen McGahan
Human Parts

Curious mom, writer, & lymphatic massage therapist in Austin. “Lymph is everything.” Want more? Visit my website: www.lonestarlymphatic.com. Welcome in!