The Myth of the ‘Good Addict’ vs. the ‘Bad Addict’

We do people a disservice when we assume their hesitance at the 12 steps is hesitance at recovery

Aaron Matthew Laxton, LCSW
Human Parts

--

Photo: Linda D/Flickr

CChances are you know something about the 12 steps of recovery. We have seen it in movies or on TV. The church basement, strong coffee, a person standing up and making a public declaration about how they have a problem. For many people, it works and it works really well. It offers support since there is the ability to socialize and be around other people who understand what it is like to use substances, and the desire to no longer use them. For some, however, the 12 steps may be inaccessible due to trauma, mental health, or other complexities that are far too often dismissed.

I am an addiction therapist in St. Louis, Missouri, but as I tell everyone I work with, I have my own journey through addiction. My social work career has been devoted to working with individuals affected in some capacity by substance use. Addiction was something that was modeled for me early in life, and it’s what caused me to be in foster care for 15 years. Both of my parents were substance users, and I lost three members of my family to overdose.

While 12-step programs work for some, they are not for everyone. You might already be saying, “Here he goes: He is going to bash…

--

--

Aaron Matthew Laxton, LCSW
Human Parts

I am a psychotherapist who writes about mental health, addiction, recovery and the impact of substance use from personal experience. Views are my own.