Surrounding Yourself With Positive People Isn’t Always the Best Choice

The world of self-help says we are who we hang out with — but should we really ditch our friends if they don’t measure up?

Jamie Anderson
Human Parts

--

Photo: Caiaimage/Sam Edwards/Getty Images

I’m a self-improvement junkie.

I have read endless articles on how to be kinder and more successful and more motivated and happier. I’ve read books on how to care more and how to care less and how to push through obstacles and how to own my truth. I’ve listened to podcasts on how to hustle and how to say no. I know all the benefits of self-care and why we should all find our passion. I know that if I love what I do, I’ll never have to work a day in my life.

Now, this is not to say that I take all the advice that I’ve consumed. Sometimes I try things and sometimes I let them go. Often, I will embrace an idea with gusto, submit my life to it fully, and then forget I decided to do it a week or so later.

I will likely never stop trying to improve; I will never stop reading and learning and making mistakes and starting over. I used to think that I would, one day, find the magical secret to endless bliss. I now know that’s silly (mostly) and am just happy to add something new to the ever-evolving project that is my life.

--

--