Taming My Monsters

Vivian McInerny
Human Parts
Published in
4 min readJun 6, 2023

--

Time turns ugly demons into tolerable imps

Crossword image by Sigmund on Unsplash edited and altered by Vivian McInerny

I was a teenage monster. Maybe I didn’t turn into a horror movie werewolf or a blood-sucking vampire, but I was not an easy teen to parent. To be honest, I don’t think my mother had the chops to handle her role as starring parent either. That was a thousand years ago though and, thankfully, we’ve both had time to rewrite the script.

Sometimes when I read essays by people who are still in the muddled midst of an unhealthy relationship, raw and hurting, I want to shout: Consider the space-time continuum!

You don’t need to be a physics genius to understand the benefit of putting a little distance between yourself and a difficult situation. It doesn’t need to be a big dramatic “I’m never speaking to you again!” Or a cruel and confusing silent ghosting. Just a little space and time.

Maybe it was easier before we were all just a twitchy-thumb-text away.

A snippy remark that arrived by snail mail weeks after it was penned, lost much of its sting and could be easily, and quite literally, discarded. Wounds had time to scab over and fall off. The remaining scars didn’t hurt as much and also reminded us to protect ourselves against future hurts. And the really jagged ones made for good stories.

--

--

Vivian McInerny
Human Parts

Career journalist, essayist, fiction writer, and life-long spirit-quester.