Lived Through This

The Art of Getting Into, and Out of, $15,000 in Credit Card Debt

After overspending the advances on my books, I needed a strategy

Nicole Peeler
Human Parts
Published in
11 min readNov 8, 2019

--

Illustration: Alex Eben Meyer

JJust looking at this title makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up and my stomach roil. That said, merely wanting to puke when I declare my debt is progress. Six months ago, I couldn’t have typed that sentence, especially not for publication. I wouldn’t have even said it to myself, let alone to others. My debt was something I stared at in horror every time I opened my bank’s online interface, before I averted my eyes.

Out of sight, out of mind, right? Of course not. My debt was always there, like a funky mole between my shoulder blades that I ignored because it terrified me. I was afraid to get it diagnosed, to deal with it, and to face the consequences. How had I let it get to this point? What was wrong with me?

In other words, the story of my debt is a shame story. And like all shame stories, it’s not really about the concrete fact of owing money. Credit cards can be paid off. Debt can be erased. Facts inform me that I am not alone in having debt, either. And yet, in my inability to confront this issue, I demonstrated that such facts didn’t matter. In my mind, my debt was unique and personal. It proved terrible…

--

--