The Birth Story I Never Told You

Who wants to know that on the day of their birth, their mother was thinking about death?

Courtney Christine Woods, LSW
Human Parts

--

Photo: Brooke Pennington/Getty Images

You had both eyes wide open when you came into the world.

Your father tells it this way: Suspended between two worlds, halfway in and halfway out, you turned and looked him full in the face. He positioned his hands the way the midwife instructed, palms open, fingers spread wide, ready to catch you when you slipped from my body. Your dark, round eyes looking straight into his weren’t what he had planned for.

I remember that moment from a different viewpoint. I can feel my feet grinding into the sheets, my teeth clenched, and my eyes squeezed shut. I had a faint awareness of a scuffle happening, of someone strapping an oxygen mask to my face. I put so much effort into those final pushes that I had forgotten to save any breath for myself.

You’ve already heard these stories. The story you do not know is what happened two weeks before you arrived, when your entire universe was still my womb.

Since month six of pregnancy, I had been drawing up a careful blueprint for the day of your arrival. The birth books recommended mothers create a “Birth Plan” to present to medical professionals that guarantees the childbirth experience she wants.

--

--

Courtney Christine Woods, LSW
Human Parts

Storyteller, social worker, solo parent. Fan of triads and alliteration. Believer that we’re all out here doing our best. Find me on FB @courtneycwrites