The Laziest Coming Out Story You’ve Ever Heard

Adventures in budding bisexuality

Chloé Caldwell
Human Parts

--

Tamara Álvarez
  • A new friend told me that her number on the Kinsey scale went up this year after reading my book Women, about a lesbian love affair, and after watching the actress Allison Williams play Peter Pan in Peter Pan Live.
  • Another friend emailed me: Ryan had heard I’m now open to dating women and he was like, “So what does that mean, what are you doing to meet women and date?” and I was like, “Oh literally nothing, I’m just like, inwardly identifying as queer now and am now open to being seduced by anyone, male or female.” “That is the laziest coming out story I’ve ever heard,” he said.
  • I told this friend I would be using that anecdote in an essay. I asked her if she wanted me to use her name, or call her “a friend.” She replied, “A friend. I’m not out yet.”
  • Everyone’s bisexual!” This was me and a best friend’s party trick in middle and high school. It riled people up and we knew it. And by ‘people,’ I mean males. They laughed in our faces, thinking it a ridiculous claim.
  • After my first relationship with a woman, I talk to that best friend on the phone. “Everyone’s bisexual, remember?” she said.
  • The writer Ashley Ford interviewed me over the phone for Buzzfeed LGBT. To have the acronym LGBT…

--

--

Chloé Caldwell
Human Parts

Author of 3 books: WOMEN, I’ll Tell You in Person, and Legs Get Led Astray. Currently working on a memoir about PMDD, & living in Hudson, New York with her fam.