The Myth of Getting Better

When you’re chronically ill or dynamically disabled, it feels like your whole life is about trying to get better

Brianne Benness
Human Parts

--

Photo: Roco Julie/Flickr

It feels like I’ve been trying to get better my whole life.

I was trying to get better in middle school when I carried a small cooler pack of homeopathic remedies with me everywhere I went. And I was trying to get better in high school when a naturopath put me on a special diet and my mom and I tried to make our own gluten-free bagels, boiled dough and all. And I was trying to get better in my twenties when I rebuilt my life from the ground up in an effort to cure my terrible eczema and the crushing fatigue that was left in its wake.

In these and many other moments, I thought of my complaints as stubborn but not chronic. With each new protocol, I thought I was one step closer to getting better.

The great thing about trying to get better is that it lets you feel like you have some control over your circumstances, like you’re taking action about your health. The terrible thing about trying to get better is that it might not work, and nobody wants to admit that.

And that was the first time I heard a whisper in my mind asking, what if I don’t get better?

--

--

Brianne Benness
Human Parts

Host of No End In Sight, a podcast about life with chronic illness. Co-founder (& former co-producer) of Stories We Don’t Tell in Toronto. She/Her.