The Road to Inner Peace is Paved With Idiots

After two years of spirituality school, I still struggle to forgive myself and others

Robin Finn
Human Parts

--

Credit: Malte Mueller/Getty Images

The Universe = Love

The essential nature of the Universe is Love and, therefore, my essential nature is Love. When I am in my Loving, I recognize the Loving Essence in others. Namaste.

I hate everyone in this room.

I sit in the auditorium at my kids’ school for my youngest daughter’s drama showcase and, everywhere I look, I see people on my shit list. There are so many of them that my oldest daughter suggests I get a file cabinet to keep it all straight. She even gives it a name: Robin’s Fight Files, four-fifths of which is devoted to the defense of my son, the one with ADHD.

So I sit in the school auditorium among the file cabinet people I hate, hating myself because:

1. I can’t stand parents who over-share with their children and the fact that my eighth-grade daughter knows who the adults are on my shit list and why means I am now one of those parents.

2. I want to be in my Loving¹ with all people and living things on the planet and being in the elementary school auditorium kills the Loving vibe for me.

--

--

Robin Finn
Human Parts

Founder of Heart. Soul. Pen.® for women writers. Book coming April 2024! Essays in @NYTimes @WashPo @LATimes. Author: “Restless in L.A.” www.robinfinn.com