The Slut Gene

We all have nubbins for rubbin

Nicole Peeler
Human Parts

--

Photo by DIGITALE on Unsplash

I’m in the car with my mother. She’s been talking nonstop for twenty minutes and I’m paying zero attention when I hear “the slut gene.”

“Sorry?” I ask.

“My Aunt Shirley. She was like your Aunt Pat. You know, a slut!”

Before I can open the car door and roll out, she continues.

“I’ve never wanted to have sex with anyone but my husband. And only when we were married! But they had sex before marriage, and then they had affairs. With other married people! It’s like they have some gene. A slut gene. Do you think that could be a thing?”

As she doubles down on her diagnosis, I mentally acknowledge that my mother could be onto something.

Because if she thinks there’s a slut gene in the family, then I’ve inherited it.

It’s simple math, really. I’m 45 years-old, I’ve never married, and I’m a sexually healthy woman who has had at least a few relationships a year. Furthermore, I practice what Dr. Kim Tallbear calls decolonizing love, or what most people call consensual or ethical non-monogamy, or polyamory. I’m also queer, and my philosophy on gender and sexuality is that we get up hung up on our bits and bobs but, in reality, we all just have nubbins, for rubbin. That it can be that simple, if we let it.

--

--