Today, I Reported My Rapist

E. Jean Carroll inspired me to act

Miranda G. Triay
Human Parts

--

A hand underneath a vine of bougainvillea. Photo: Miranda G. Triay

Today, I reported my rapist.

My rape happened almost seven years ago. I was 22. My rapist was younger than me. He played football with my younger brother. Before my rape, we had spoken once the night before.

Today, I reported my rapist.

It was October. My parents were out of town. My older brother invited a few friends over, and my rapist was a friend of a friend. I had graduated from college several months beforehand. I was bored, without many friends to keep me occupied. So, I talked to these friends. The friends of friends. I thought I was being polite. Fun.

Today, I reported my rapist.

When I went to bed that night, I closed my door. I didn’t lock it. I knew my brother’s friends. I trusted their friends. I was the sister. I was safe in my own home.

Today, I reported my rapist.

On June 21st, 2019, I watched E. Jean Carroll discuss her rape at the hands of Donald Trump. How he opened her mouth wide. Wedged his fingers between her stockings and tore into her. She was awake when this happened. She fought and escaped.

In October 2012, I woke to a tongue crammed down my throat and several fingers shoved inside of me. I thought I was…

--

--

Miranda G. Triay
Human Parts

Writer. Reader. 90s Magical Girl. MA in philosophy, but don’t call me a philosopher. Tweet @mirandagtriay | pronouns: they/them, she/her