What 10 Years in the Grocery Business Taught Me About Humanity

Positives, negatives, and plain old weirdness

Not Even Wine With Dinner
Human Parts

--

Author in the 1980s wearing her Albertsons uniform changing register tape
Vintage me stocking film, VHS videos and cartons of Pall Mall. (Author's photo)

Everyone goes to the grocery store. Rich, poor, black, white, brown, healthy, sick, sane and insane.

Everyone.

I started my grocery experience after my first year of college. Bringing home a 1.65 accumulative GPA and being put on academic suspension pretty much sealed the deal with my parents. “If you’re not going back, you’re not sitting around here. Get a job.”

I never shied away from work, so it wasn’t as harsh as it sounds. I simply lost my mind being away from home. Instead of studying the books I studied booze, weed, and frat parties. I got a 4.0 in 1980’s party life.

I started working part-time in the video department at Albertsons where I’d spend the next 10 years. Eventually, I went full-time while popping in and out of college. I worked at six stores in three cities, exposed to a vast rainbow of different demographics.

Stores backed up to country clubs, next to highway underpasses’ with large homeless populations, in middle-class suburbia, and in extremely high crime impoverished neighborhoods. I was in the majority and the minority. Through this experience, I received my degree, a Bachelor’s of the Good, Bad, and Ugly of…

--

--

Not Even Wine With Dinner
Human Parts

Writer of stories on life, love, loss, liquor and the daily struggles with sobriety. My mantra is to "Find Yourself and Love What You Find".