Mind Games

When We Went Inside

An agoraphobe’s advice on how to go out again

Sara Benincasa
Human Parts
Published in
14 min readMay 24, 2020

--

A photo of a red door in an empty room with bright yellow walls.
Photo: oxygen/Getty Images

Since the stay-at-home orders began in the United States in mid-March, I’ve been asked the same question over and over: “What is this like for you, since you’re, you know, agoraphobic?”

Journalists ask The Question while interviewing me for stories about working from home or about creativity or about mental health. These are the only three things I am interviewed about, except when I am on a book tour or when the BBC World Service needs someone awake at 2 a.m. to say funny things about an unfolding American pop culture contretemps or sweet things about a newly dead comedian. I’m sober, so if I’m up that late, I’m probably not doing anything interesting.

Some people ask The Question in a joking way that I’ve come to recognize as a transparent cloak for their own fear. “You must love this whole thing, right?” asked one guy. He’s the middle-aged equivalent of a troubled teen boy, which is hardly uncommon. And I know he asked because he is scared, too. My short glib answer is, “Oh, this is my fucking Super Bowl.” But to answer bullshit with bullshit is generally not helpful.

I decided I’d write a thoughtful essay on agoraphobia, infused with aching lyricism and finely crafted metaphor. But honestly, after 10 weeks of…

--

--

Sara Benincasa
Human Parts

Author, REAL ARTISTS HAVE DAY JOBS & other books. Writer of scripts. Host of WELL, THIS ISN’T NORMAL podcast. Patreon.com/SaraBenincasa