Why People Leave the Church and Never Come Back

It’s time we examine how we treat those questioning their faith

Nate Bagley
Human Parts

--

Credit: Eziutka/iStock via Getty Images

I was recently asked to speak at my Stake conference regarding my experiences leaving the church for several years, and my recent choice to return. I decided to use this opportunity to teach a lesson sorely needed in LDS communities about how we treat those who choose to leave. The below is an adaptation of that speech.

I’d like to share with you my experience leaving the church for several years, and my recent decision to return.

Your instinct might be to get excited. You might hope that I’m about to share the secret sauce that will bring loved ones back into the fold. I’d like to tell you right up front that this is not my intention.

My goal is not to show you how to explain away someone’s doubts, or to rekindle their testimony. Rather, I want to share what I and others felt upon leaving the church — regardless of our reasons for leaving.

I invite you to maintain an open heart while reading, as there are parts that may stir up feelings of defensiveness or frustration. If this happens to you, I invite you to look inward and ask yourself, “Why am I feeling this?”

Why people leave

--

--

Nate Bagley
Human Parts

I’m the creator of the Growth Marriage Podcast (http://growthmarriage.com). My mission in life is to rid the world of mediocre love.