THIS IS US

An American Immigrant, in Three Bruce Springsteen Tunes

What rock music taught me about being American

Yi Shun Lai
Human Parts
Published in
8 min readJul 1, 2021

--

Picture of a Bruce Springsteen “Born in the U.S.A.” LP record in a record bin.
Photo: Jose Antonio Gallego Vázquez/Unsplash

“Born in the U.S.A.”

Picture it, a most American of all American pursuits, either an Indian Guides weekend or a weekend for Cub Scouts. It was my brother’s gig, but we all went along, me, my mom, and my dad, and after we’d set up our family tent, I spotted a kid from my school and his younger brother, marching towards our tent in jeans and T-shirts. One of them had a boombox on his shoulder. I just knew I was witnessing something so American it was nearly sacred. From the boombox Bruce Springsteen was yelling like he does: “I was born in the U.S.A. Born in the U.S.A.!”

They stalked, back and forth, in front of our tent, and I slowly realized that we were the target of something ugly. I stood in the flimsy tent doorway with my hands on my hips and screamed at them, “I’m Taiwanese, and I’m proud of it!”

In retrospect, not the right thing to say, and not even how I felt. But I was trapped between my parents, just behind me in the tent; their pride in our home country; and my identity as an American kid. I was wearing jeans and a T-shirt that day, too.

--

--

Yi Shun Lai
Human Parts

Author: A SUFFRAGISTS’S GUIDE TO THE ANTARCTIC (2024), Pin Ups (2020). Former columnist, The Writer. theGooddirt.org Psst: Say “yeeshun.” You can do it!