Humans 101

Empathy Is Overrated

Our actions matter more than how we feel

Devon Price
Human Parts
Published in
9 min readApr 3, 2020

--

A multiple exposure photo of a woman’s face that appears to be shattered.
Photo: Owl Stories/Getty Images

I used to know this guy, Steven, who was very invested in thinking of himself as “an empath.” Actually, I’ve known a lot of people like that. I hang around artists, actors, and queer people who read a lot of self-help books; in those circles, identifying as an empath is common. But when I think about the misunderstood nature of empathy and the way it gets overhyped in our culture, Steven in particular always comes to mind.

Steven was a kindhearted, warm person with a rich social network. He was perceptive and fascinated by the inner lives of everyone around him. An active spreader of benevolent-seeming gossip, he always knew who was suffering, which friends were having a fight, who was about to hook up with whom. If a longstanding couple was contemplating divorce, he was the first to know. If someone got a new job or was admitted to graduate school, he was the person who showed up first to help them celebrate.

Sometimes, Steven’s emotional instincts struck me as superhuman. He once comforted me when I was in the middle of a drunken crying jag at a crowded party. I’ve never forgotten how loved and protected he made me feel in that moment. We barely knew one another at the time, yet he knew exactly what to say to quiet my sobs.

--

--

Devon Price
Human Parts

He/Him or It/Its. Social Psychologist & Author of LAZINESS DOES NOT EXIST and UNMASKING AUTISM. Links to buy: https://linktr.ee/drdevonprice