Humans 101

What Happens When You Choose Passion Over Fear

My higher self knew I’d regret staying in the corporate world

Lisa Marie Rankin
Human Parts
Published in
9 min readFeb 27, 2020

--

A photo of a dove flying across a building with blue-reflected windows.
Photo: DAMS Library/Flickr

LLast year at this time, I was in a meeting. This isn’t surprising because I was always in meetings at my corporate job. My team and I sat around a table in a small conference room. We were discussing how our group fit within our larger business unit and whether we had a “vote” or a “voice” on specific issues. This would be a reasonable enough conversation to have, except we had been having the same exact conversation for over a year.

I could hear an internal voice whisper to me, “You are not supposed to be here.”

I silently replied, “This company has been really good to me. I make a lot of money; I have great benefits. Sure, I haven’t been inspired in a while, but I should be happy to have this job.”

The voice, let’s call it my higher self, challenged me “Is there another position in this company that you would find more inspiring?”

Surely I should be able to think of some role that would be more appealing than my current one, but after considering for a moment, I realized there wasn’t. “No,” I conceded.

“What do you think, Lisa Marie?” An actual voice, a co-worker, asked me — jolting me out of…

--

--

Lisa Marie Rankin
Human Parts

Heal your body and enliven your spirit through Divine Feminine practices and principles to thrive in all realms of life. lisamarierankin.com/waitlist-enlivened